Salt and Pepper Shakers

In Norway it is common that salt goes in the shaker with most holes,and pepper goes in the shaker with one hole. In England it tends to be the other way around! It took me years to get used to it, and now I always check twice before using any of them!

– Photo creditΒ to Asta Burrows –

Tags: , ,

9 Comments to “Salt and Pepper Shakers”

  1. I’m sure you know which is which at home, but when you’re out it can be tricky! I was going to suggest getting glass shakers, but of course you can’t take your own with you to a restaurant, for example πŸ™‚
    It’s the little things like this that really make up culture shock, isn’t it?

    • It is – the things you have just taken for granted all your life, and then suddenly everything is turned up side down πŸ™‚ It took me several years to get used to it in England, and when I came home to Norway again, and put these salt and pepper shakers on the table, my dinner guests got it wrong!

  2. I have never thought of this!

    • Think about it next time you see a salt or pepper shaker! (I just noticed today at work, there are more holes in the salt one – but they have also marked it with an S) πŸ™‚

  3. Bwahahaha – I’ve struggled with that for years. My ex (who lives in South Africa) once asked me :”why is that you never know which one is the salt and which is the pepper??”!

  4. In my hometown, we rarely use the shaker with one hole.
    If the hole is small, people get impatient.
    It the hole is big, there will be complains how the salt or pepper slip through the hole too easily, causing the food to be to salty or over-spiced.
    That is why in our family restaurant, we use the shaker with many holes. To avoid more problems, the shakers are transparent so we can see what is inside! πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

